Eating Disorder Talk

Hey my lovelies,

Recently I have watched 2 movies that have covered a huge real topic which has been about eating disorders. Both films have been along the same lines but both portrayed very differently. I want to give you my opinion on these films and my experience with an eating disorder when I was younger.

**Before I start I want to mention that this content could be a potential trigger and there is also spoiler alerts from the movies mentioned** 

 

to-the-bone-480x279

 

Film One

To the bone

What is it about: 

Ellen (Lily Collins) is an unruly 20-year-old anorexic girl who spent the better part of her teenage years being shepherded through various recovery programs, only to find herself several pounds lighter every time. Determined to find a solution, her dysfunctional family agrees to send her to a group home for youths, which is led by a non-traditional doctor. Surprised by the unusual rules, Ellen must discover for herself how to confront her addiction and attempt self-acceptance.


This movie is shockingly powerful. It deals with so many components that can make eating disorders worse such as criticism, social media, family trouble etc. I like how it touched on all of these as the story is told. The main character Ellen, her eating disorder is based on the fact she wants to be skinny and there is also an added bit of guilt there too. With this film it shows you different stages that eating disorders bring and also little information on different disorders. There are a few pieces of advice on how to get better, some good ideas and also some great quotes too. To watch the movie it is visually disturbing but you can’t sugar coat eating disorders, they are painful and ugly to go through and painfully disturbing to watch.

 

My favourite quote from the movie is this one.

“When you hear that voice, tell it to fuck off.” ~ Dr William Beckham


 

feed-movie-2017

 

Film Two

Feed

What is it about:

As 18-year-old twins prepare for their last year of school together, an unforseen tragedy tears them apart. After this tragedy Olivia spirals down a dangerous self-destructive path. She creates this voice that tells her to not eat, the story follows her journey with an eating disorder and perfectionism.


This film for me was more personal because the main character’s eating disorder is brought on by a family trauma. With this happening she creates this voice that tells her not to eat, she wants to be in control. The character Olivia’s addiction is not about being skinny it is purely about being in control and being perfect. Again as the story unfolds you see the different stages eating disorders bring including being hospitalised.

This film was written, directed and starred in by Troian Bellisario who has spoken freely about her own battle with an eating disorder. Due to her writing this and including her own experience gives this movie an even bigger message. Someone who is well-known and very talented sharing her story. So many people look up to her and I praise her for opening up and being so real with everyone in the hopes she can help others to get better too.

Both films was so powerful and I don’t have anything negative to say about them. My only little thought is that I wished with both films they added more of a recovery for the characters. When you finally accept you have a problem you are terrified of the recovery so I think showing people what the recovery could look like may help others make that move a little faster. Both films ended the same, they decide they want to get help and that’s the end so you just assume they get better. If they added recovery time to the films and maybe also adding bits where they fall of the band wagon and what you can do when that happens would also help and inspire others too.

Overall I was very impressed with these films. I suffered with anorexia when I was younger so this is something that is close to my heart. My anorexia was based on control not being skinny, was simply to be in control of something in my life. People say it never leaves you and I don’t 100% agree with that because I have found a place of happiness within myself and my body. I have accepted my body and how it looks. This will always be a part of who I am and how I have grown. I just wish I could help others see the way I see things now, there is so much more to life than what size or shape you are. Always remember you are beautiful no matter what.

 

A while back I wrote a poem about my experience with my eating disorder. You can find that here.

 

All images used are from google image search.

 

Thank you for reading. If you are affected by any of this content or you yourself struggle with an eating disorder please go here to get some help and advice.

 

Thank you so much for reading.

Take care of yourself.

 

Love, Kimmy xoxo

Leave a Reply

